Posted by: Rachel Kenyon | December 11, 2012

How They Voted

On May 17, the House approved the Larson Amendment (CMKAA) via unanimous consent as part of the FY2013 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) and on November 29, the Senate version called the Gillibrand Autism Amendment to the NDAA was also approved.

Our legislation is now awaiting approval in conference committee with members of both the House and Senate Armed Services Committees.  There, the nature and language of each version of the bill is either rectified and sent to The President for signature, or the amendment is rejected and the NDAA moves on without the care we need for our children with autism included.

The House version had 70 bipartisan cosponsors.

The measure was approved 66/29 in Senate.

Here’s how our Senators voted:

Vote

Party

Representative

State

Alaska

Yea

D

Begich, Mark

AK

Yea

R

Murkowski, Lisa

AK

Alabama

Nay

R

Sessions, Jeff

AL

Nay

R

Shelby, Richard

AL

Arkansas

Nay

R

Boozman, John

AR

Yea

D

Pryor, Mark

AR

Arizona

Nay

R

Kyl, Jon

AZ

Nay

R

McCain, John

AZ

California

Yea

D

Boxer, Barbara

CA

Yea

D

Feinstein, Dianne

CA

Colorado

Yea

D

Bennet, Michael

CO

Yea

D

Udall, Mark

CO

Connecticut

Yea

D

Blumenthal, Richard

CT

Yea

I

Lieberman, Joseph

CT

Delaware

Yea

D

Carper, Thomas

DE

Yea

D

Coons, Chris

DE

Florida

Yea

D

Nelson, Bill

FL

Yea

R

Rubio, Marco

FL

Georgia

Yea

R

Chambliss, Saxby

GA

Yea

R

Isakson, John

GA

Hawaii

Yea

D

Akaka, Daniel

HI

Yea

D

Inouye, Daniel

HI

Iowa

Yea

R

Grassley, Chuck

IA

Yea

D

Harkin, Tom

IA

Idaho

Nay

R

Crapo, Michael

ID

Nay

R

Risch, James

ID

Illinois

Yea

D

Durbin, Richard

IL

No Vote

R

Kirk, Mark

IL

Indiana

Yea

R

Coats, Daniel

IN

Yea

R

Lugar, Richard

IN

Kansas

Yea

R

Moran, Jerry

KS

Yea

R

Roberts, Pat

KS

Kentucky

Yea

R

McConnell, Mitch

KY

Vote

Party

Representative

State

Nay

R

Paul, Rand

KY

Louisiana

Yea

D

Landrieu, Mary

LA

Nay

R

Vitter, David

LA

Massachusetts

Yea

R

Brown, Scott

MA

Yea

D

Kerry, John

MA

Maryland

Yea

D

Cardin, Benjamin

MD

Yea

D

Mikulski, Barbara

MD

Maine

Yea

R

Collins, Susan

ME

Yea

R

Snowe, Olympia

ME

Michigan

Yea

D

Levin, Carl

MI

Yea

D

Stabenow, Debbie Ann

MI

Minnesota

Yea

D

Franken, Al

MN

Yea

D

Klobuchar, Amy

MN

Missouri

Nay

R

Blunt, Roy

MO

Yea

D

McCaskill, Claire

MO

Mississippi

Nay

R

Cochran, Thad

MS

Nay

R

Wicker, Roger

MS

Montana

Yea

D

Baucus, Max

MT

Yea

D

Tester, Jon

MT

North Carolina

Nay

R

Burr, Richard

NC

Yea

D

Hagan, Kay

NC

North Dakota

Yea

D

Conrad, Kent

ND

Nay

R

Hoeven, John

ND

Nebraska

Nay

R

Johanns, Mike

NE

Nay

D

Nelson, Ben

NE

New Hampshire

Yea

R

Ayotte, Kelly

NH

Yea

D

Shaheen, Jeanne

NH

New Jersey

No Vote

D

Lautenberg, Frank

NJ

Yea

D

Menéndez, Bob

NJ

New Mexico

Yea

D

Bingaman, Jeff

NM

Yea

D

Udall, Tom

NM

Nevada

No Vote

R

Heller, Dean

NV

Yea

D

Reid, Harry

NV

New York

Vote

Party

Representative

State

Yea

D

Gillibrand, Kirsten

NY

Yea

D

Schumer, Charles

NY

Ohio

Yea

D

Brown, Sherrod

OH

Nay

R

Portman, Rob

OH

Oklahoma

Nay

R

Coburn, Thomas

OK

Nay

R

Inhofe, Jim

OK

Oregon

Yea

D

Merkley, Jeff

OR

No Vote

D

Wyden, Ron

OR

Pennsylvania

Yea

D

Casey, Robert

PA

Nay

R

Toomey, Pat

PA

Rhode Island

Yea

D

Reed, John

RI

Yea

D

Whitehouse, Sheldon

RI

South Carolina

No Vote

R

DeMint, Jim

SC

Nay

R

Graham, Lindsey

SC

South Dakota

Yea

D

Johnson, Tim

SD

Nay

R

Thune, John

SD

Tennessee

Nay

R

Alexander, Lamar

TN

Nay

R

Corker, Bob

TN

Texas

Nay

R

Cornyn, John

TX

Yea

R

Hutchison, Kay

TX

Utah

Yea

R

Hatch, Orrin

UT

Nay

R

Lee, Mike

UT

Virginia

Yea

D

Warner, Mark

VA

Yea

D

Webb, Jim

VA

Vermont

Yea

D

Leahy, Patrick

VT

Yea

I

Sanders, Bernie

VT

Washington

Yea

D

Cantwell, Maria

WA

Yea

D

Murray, Patty

WA

Wisconsin

Nay

R

Johnson, Ron

WI

Yea

D

Kohl, Herb

WI

West Virginia

Yea

D

Manchin, Joe

WV

Yea

D

Rockefeller, Jay

WV

Wyoming

Nay

R

Barrasso, John

WY

Nay

R

Enzi, Michael

WY

Advertisements
Posted by: Rachel Kenyon | December 9, 2012

CONTACT HASC & SASC TODAY!

ARMED SERVICES COMMITTEES

HOLD OUR FATE IN THEIR HANDS

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Friends,

I have personally contacted every office of every HASC and SASC Member to urge them to pass the NDAA on to President Obama with our autism legislation intact.  I am sharing their email addresses with you to do the same.  With one personal note, you can group email with one click and help change the world.  Just copy and paste the addresses into your email message and tell them – it’s personal.

 

HASC Chiefs of Staff and Legislative Directors:

Adam Howard <Adam.Howard@mail.house.gov>; Adrienne Elrod <Adrienne.Elrod@mail.house.gov>; Andrew Lattanner <Andrew.Lattanner@mail.house.gov>; Angela Kouters <Angela.Kouters@mail.house.gov>; Arthur Sidney <Arthur.Sidney@mail.house.gov>; Ashley Shillingsburg <Ashley.Shillingsburg@mail.house.gov>; Ben Schultz <Ben.Schultz@mail.house.gov>; Betsy Hawkings <Betsy.Hawkings@mail.house.gov>; Blair Milligan <Blair.Milligan@mail.house.gov>; Bobby Cornett <Bobby.Cornett@mail.house.gov>; Brad Gentile <Brad.Gentile@mail.house.gov>; Brad Katz <Brad.Katz@mail.house.gov>; Brian Crawford <Brian.Crawford@mail.house.gov>; Brooke Bennett <Brooke.Bennett@mail.house.gov>; Casey Street <Casey.Street@mail.house.gov>; Chic Dambach <Chic.Dambach@mail.house.gov>; Chris Austin <Chris.Austin@mail.house.gov>; Chris Connelly <Chris.Connelly@mail.house.gov>; Chris Kelley <Chris.Kelley@mail.house.gov>; Chris Perry <Chris.Perry@mail.house.gov>; Chris Phelen <Chris.Phelen@mail.house.gov>; Christopher Raymond <Christopher.Raymond@mail.house.gov>; Chuck Cogar <Chuck.Cogar@mail.house.gov>; Claire Benjamin <Claire.Benjamin@mail.house.gov>; Clayton Hall <Clayton.Hall@mail.house.gov>; Cookab Hashemi <Cookab.Hashemi@mail.house.gov>; Courtney Temple <Courtney.Temple@mail.house.gov>; Dan Burgess <Dan.Burgess@mail.house.gov>; Dan McFaul <Dan.McFaul@mail.house.gov>; Dan Ziegler <Dan.Ziegler@mail.house.gov>; Dana Gartzke <Dana.Gartzke@mail.house.gov>; David Bond <David.Bond@mail.house.gov>; Dean Mitchell <Dean.Mitchell@mail.house.gov>; Deborah Burrell <Deborah.Burrell@mail.house.gov>; Dee Gilmore <Dee.Gilmore@mail.house.gov>; Diane Cihota <Diane.Cihota@mail.house.gov>; Eduardo Lerma <Eduardo.Lerma@mail.house.gov>; Emily Mueller <Emily.Mueller@mail.house.gov>; Eric Bohl <Eric.Bohl@mail.house.gov>; Eric Dell <Eric.Dell@mail.house.gov>; Eric Witee <Eric.Witee@mail.house.gov>; Erin Ryan <Erin.Ryan@mail.house.gov>; Fran Tagmire <Fran.Tagmire@mail.house.gov>; Glen Downs <Glen.Downs@mail.house.gov>; Greg Facchano <Greg.Facchano@mail.house.gov>; Jacque Ponder <Jacque.Ponder@mail.house.gov>; Jamie Boone-Biondi <Jamie.BooneBiondi@mail.house.gov>; Jamie Miller <Jamie.Miller@mail.house.gov>; Jason Lumia <Jason.Lumia@mail.house.gov>; Jean Hinz <Jean.Hinz@mail.house.gov>; Jennifer Cox <Jennifer.Cox@mail.house.gov>; Jennifer Warren <Jennifer.Warren@mail.house.gov>; Jesse Connolly <Jesse.Connolly@mail.house.gov>; Jessica Moore <Jessica.Moore@mail.house.gov>; Jessica Robertson <Jessica.Robertson@mail.house.gov>; Jimmy Thomas <Jimmy.Thomas@mail.house.gov>; Joby Young <Joby.Young@mail.house.gov>; Joe Heaton <Joe.Heaton@mail.house.gov>; John Blair <John.Blair@mail.house.gov>; John Bressler <John.Bressler@mail.house.gov>; John Connell <John.Connell@mail.house.gov>; John Thomas <John.Thomas@mail.house.gov>; John Whitt <John.Whitt@mail.house.gov>; Jonathan Blyth <Jonathan.Blyth@mail.house.gov>; Jonathan Pawlow <Jonathan.Pawlow@mail.house.gov>; Josh Bowlen <Josh.Bowlen@mail.house.gov>; Josh Grodin <Josh.Grodin@mail.house.gov>; Josh Martin <Josh.Martin@mail.house.gov>; Justin Johnson <Justin.Johnson@mail.house.gov>; Katie Enos <Katie.Enos@mail.house.gov>; Kimberly Johnston <Kimberly.Johnston@mail.house.gov>; Kristin Nicholson <Kristin.Nicholson@mail.house.gov>; Lauren Alfred <Lauren.Alfred@mail.house.gov>; Lauren Ellis <Lauren.Ellis@mail.house.gov>; Leanne Powell <Leanne.Powell@mail.house.gov>; Lisa Quigley <Lisa.Quigley@mail.house.gov>; Lisa Sherman <Lisa.Sherman@mail.house.gov>; Luis Torres <Luis.Torres@mail.house.gov>; Marc Berkman <Marc.Berkman@mail.house.gov>; Marianne Myers <Marianne.Myers@mail.house.gov>; Mark Pettitt <Mark.Pettitt@mail.house.gov>; Marshall Macomber <Marshall.Macomber@mail.house.gov>; Mary Annie Harper <MaryAnnie.Harper@mail.house.gov>; Mary Springer <Mary.Springer@mail.house.gov>; Matt Mazonkey <Matt.Mazonkey@mail.house.gov>; Matthew Herrmann <Matthew.Herrmann@mail.house.gov>; Meagan Linn <Meagan.Linn@mail.house.gov>; Melissa Murphy <Melissa.Murphy@mail.house.gov>; Michael Seeds <Michael.Seeds@mail.house.gov>; Neil McKiernan <Neil.McKiernan@mail.house.gov>; Nell Maceda <Nell.Maceda@mail.house.gov>; Noel Holmes <Noel.Holmes@mail.house.gov>; Paul Blazano <Paul.Blazano@mail.house.gov>; Randy Kutz <Randy.Kutz@mail.house.gov>; Robert Frederick <Robert.Frederick@mail.house.gov>; Rod Tanonaka <Rod.Tanonaka@mail.house.gov>; Ron Grimes <Ron.Grimes@mail.house.gov>; Ryan Keating <Ryan.Keating@mail.house.gov>; Sallie Taylor <Sallie.Taylor@mail.house.gov>; Sarah Christopherson <Sarah.Christopherson@mail.house.gov>; Sarah Seitz <Sarah.Seitz@mail.house.gov>; Scott Goldstein <Scott.Goldstein@mail.house.gov>; Scott Graves <Scott.Graves@mail.house.gov>; Scott Miller <Scott.Miller@mail.house.gov>; Sean Deverey <Sean.Deverey@mail.house.gov>; Shana Chandler <Shana.Chandler@mail.house.gov>; Stacy Barton <Stacy.Barton@mail.house.gov>; Stan White <Stan.White@mail.house.gov>; Stephen Boyd <Stephen.Boyd@mail.house.gov>; Stephen Davis <Stephen.Davis@mail.house.gov>; Stephen Martinko <Stephen.Martinko@mail.house.gov>; Steve Haro <Steve.Haro@mail.house.gov>; Steve Stallmer <Steve.Stallmer@mail.house.gov>; Terra Sabag <Terra.Sabag@mail.house.gov>; Todd Adams <Todd.Adams@mail.house.gov>; Vicki Middleton <Vicki.Middleton@mail.house.gov>; Vince Erfe <Vince.Erfe@mail.house.gov>; Whitney Verett <Whitney.Verett@mail.house.gov>; Yelena Vaynberg Yelena.Vaynberg@mail.house.gov

SASC Chiefs of Staff and Legislative Directors:

(Beth_Jafari@cornyn.senate.gov); (Bob.Cochran@mail.house.gov); (Bob_Foster@wicker.senate.gov); (Brian_Rogers@mccain.senate.gov); (Brooke_Jamison@gillibrand.senate.gov); (Charlie_Harman@chambliss.senate.gov); (christopher_griffin@lieberman.senate.gov); (David_Bonine@webb.senate.gov); (David_lyles@levin.senate.gov); (David_Ramseur@begich.senate.gov); (Elyse_Wasch@reed.senate.gov); (Jack_Danielson@levin.senate.gov); (Joan_Ohashi@akaka.senate.gov); (Joe_Donoghue@mccain.senate.gov); (John_Bonsell@inhofe.senate.gov); (John_Easton@ayotte.senate.gov); (Julie_Dwyer@mccaskill.senate.gov); (Kyle_Ruckert@vitter.senate.gov); (Laurie_Rubiner@blumenthal.senate.gov); (Mara_Boggs@manchin.senate.gov); (Marshall_Wittmann@lieberman.senate.gov); (Mary_Dietrich@collins.senate.gov); (Maura_Keefe@shaheen.senate.gov); (Michael_Sozan@markudall.senate.gov); (Mike_Harney@hagan.senate.gov); (Neil_Campbell@reed.senate.gov); (Nu_Wexler@blumenthal.senate.gov); (Paul_Reagan@webb.senate.gov); (Rebecca_Tallent@mccain.senate.gov); (Richard_Perry@lgraham.senate.gov); (Rick_Dearborn@sessions.senate.gov); (Rob_Lehman@portman.senate.gov); (Ryan_Jackson@inhofe.senate.gov); (Stephen_Miller@sessions.senate.gov); (Tim_Becker@bennelson.senate.gov); (Vanessa_Sinders@scottbrown.senate.gov)

Keep your message short, clear and to the point. Be respectful and honest. Your voice matters!  Tell them to pass the NDAA with the Larson/Gillibrand autism amendment intact.  (You can read a portion of my letter below.)

Thank you,

Rachel

Mrs. Rachel E. Kenyon

Wife to Command Sergeant Major William W. Kenyon, 1BN 102IN (MTN) CTARNG

Mother of two beautiful babes – one with autism.

 

“….  I thank those of you who have offered your support and I beg those of you who are hesitant to accept this legislation to look again. Look at our bravest families.  Look at the thousands of names and stories our citizens have lent to this cause.  They represent only a small fraction of our military families in crisis.  They speak for the thousands who are simply unable to fight for this while fighting every day for our country and for their own children with autism who need care.

I contact you today because this fight is so very personal for so many of us
serving our country each day. Not only do I want my husband to feel that his
more than 26 years of service warrant the medical care our daughter with autism
needs, but I want my daughter to have the security of being able to access the
tools that can give her a richer, more meaningful life…”

Posted by: Rachel Kenyon | December 6, 2012

On to Conference Committee – SEND YOUR SUPPORT!

action alert***ACTION ALERT*** IN ONE CLICK YOU CAN TELL THE CONFERENCE COMMITTEE MEMBERS TO SEND OUR BILL ON TO THE PRESIDENT FOR SIGNATURE!!!!! Use the link below at Autism Votes to send an email to each member of the House and Senate Armed Services Committee Members with one click!

WE NEED YOUR VOICE!

Thank you!


My name is Rachel Kenyon. I am a proud and battle-tested Army wife and mom of two beautiful babes, one with autism.   Currently, TRICARE military healthcare provides less than half the recommended treatments for autism, and only to children of active duty service members.   Service members who retire after more than twenty years and Wounded Warriors forced to medically retire are stripped of what little treatment TRICARE allows via the Extended Care Health Option (ECHO).

 

On Thursday, May 17, 2012, Congressman John Larson took to the House floor armed with embarrassingly large photos of our little family and made the case for Caring for Military Kids with Autism Act to be included as an amendment to the FY2013 NDAA. It worked, because for Mr. Larson, this had become personal. It worked because Rep. Tom Rooney had the courage to walk up to Chairman Buck McKeon and tell him it was personal. Mr. Rooney has two nephews with autism. Mr. McKeon did the right thing, because now he understood, it was personal. The amendment passed as part of the NDAA in the House.

 

Senator Gillibrand and several bipartisan copsonsors passed a similar amendment in the Senate. Now our thousands of military families await conference committee members to approve this lifechanging legislation.

 

I contact you today because this fight is so very personal for so many of us serving our country each day. Not only do I want my husband to feel that his more than 26 years of service warrant the medical care our daughter with autism needs, but I want my daughter to have the security of being able to access the tools that can give her a richer, more meaningful life.

 

It’s personal because I now hold 23,000 other children in my heart, and more than that many parents who serve our country. I love them as I love my own. I want them to feel proud of their country’s service to them in return. I want them to sleep at night, knowing that though autism may have knocked on their door, they can live their lives to the fullest with the care they need and deserve. It’s personal.

 

I started a petition on Change.org several months ago to garner support for this legislation. I believe in my heart that if you read even a small portion of the petition comments from your constituents, both military and civilian, you all will choose to do the right thing. To take this fight personally. To share with your fellow staffers, Senators and Representatives that our families are proud. That our children are worthy. That if just one military child was denied the cancer treatments he or she needed, we would not be wasting time with emails and petitions and action alerts. A true American who hears that 23,000 military children are being denied the medical standard of care for autism takes that personally. Well, for real American patriots, it is so very personal.

 

I appreciate your time and I pray for all of you and your loved ones, because I know that your own public service to our country is so vital as well.

 

For our little family, we will be spending another holiday season living with autism in our house and praying so hard that this is one fight we can say we have found victory.

 

Best,

 

Mrs. Rachel E. Kenyon

 

Wife to Command Sergeant Major William W. Kenyon

Mother of two beautiful babes – one with autism.
Posted by: Rachel Kenyon | November 29, 2012

WE DID IT!

Friends,

I just received a call from Representatives John Larson and Mike Doyle, the original cosponsors of CMKAA. The Senate version passed this evening as part of the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA)!!! The amendment was approved 66-29.
The measure must still clear ‘conference committee’ – that is where legislation that has passed on both sides of Congress is determined agreeable in its nature and language.
Once this is secured, and I am assured MANY Members of Congress are committed to seeing this through, The President will sign the NDAA into law with our amendment included.
THANK YOU to all who worked so hard to see this through, and especially the families who stood up to be heard. Bless us all.

Best,

Mrs. Rachel E. Kenyon

Wife to Command Sergeant Major William W. Kenyon, 1BN 102IN(MTN), CTARNG

Mother of two beautiful babes – one with autism.

Owner, author of Stimcity.org & CMKAA.org

On YouTube at CMKAAorg.

Posted by: Rachel Kenyon | November 27, 2012

ACTION ALERT – Gillibrand files amendment with Senate

From AutismVotes:

The Senate is about to vote on an amendment to the 2013 Defense bill that will greatly improve access to proven autism treatments for our military families. Sponsored by Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York, the amendment will assure all military families, regardless of their duty status, have access to behavioral therapies, such as applied behavior analysis (ABA), under the military healthcare program TRICARE. Existing ABA benefits are limited and often fall short of minimum standards and prescribed levels of care placing an undue financial strain on many military families. Further, military members also face the loss of those benefits when they leave active duty, even as a result of being wounded in action. Senator Gillibrand’s amendment would end those inequities and align TRICARE policy with best practices providing the medical care our military families have earned and deserve; a similar measure has already passed the House with strong bipartisan support.  Urge your state’s Senators to vote YES when the measure comes up on the Senate floor.

Take Action

Click below to go to the Action Alert at Autism Votes. With one click, your message will be sent directly to YOUR Senators. THANK YOU!

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »

Categories